If this isn't the definition of family drama I don't know what is. Two months after her husband passes away, the Queen marries her late husbands brother Claudius! Claudius tries to explain that he will be a strong willed leader and explain how he mourns for his brother deeply. But how deeply can you mourn for someone when your marry their wife two months are he dies? If I was Gertrude there would be no way I would be getting married for anything besides convenience at this point. To me, Claudius seems shady about the way he interacts with Hamlet. The fact that Claudius tries to convince  Hamlet to stop being upset about his father's death is foreign to me, I think that this might be a reason why I'm suspicious that Claudius isn't mourning more over the loss of his brother. 

    Poor Hamlet, he has no intensions on supporting his mother and uncle's marriage, and why should he? Once again, if my mother married my uncle, or anyone for that matter, two months after my father passed away we would have a problem. So maybe Hamlet isn't over reacting when he talks about how he can't believe this and he wishes God never made suicide a sin so he could just get it over with already. Hamlet's turning into a pretty big victim here, his father's dead and no one is still upset two months later, and his own mother is already remarried.



Leave a Reply.